Skip to content

What does the word ‘Intentional’ mean? Let’s review!

July 8, 2016

Hillary was absolved from indictment for her email fiasco because the ruling was that her act was not ‘intentional’! Her ‘intent’ could not be proven says Director Comey. Hillary, evidently, is not that conscious of what she does in real-time (it would appear)! Let’s think about this word ‘intent’ and/or ‘intentional’. What does it mean, in reality? What must I do for an event to be ‘intentional’? My sense is that if I change a normal policy within my company, venue, or institution…and desire another option, then it would seem that this behavior would be viewed as my ‘intention’. Does Mr. Comey understand reality as we ‘live’ it? The concept called ‘intent’ puzzles me!

Let’s, first of all,  provide some definitions of this word for our consideration:

Simple Definition of intentional

  • : done in a way that is planned or intended

Full Definition of intentional

  1. 1:  done by intention or design :intended<intentional damage>

  2. 2a:  of or relating to epistemological intention b:  having external reference

Related to intentional

Legal Definition of intentional

  1. :  done with intent

On Tuesday, FBI Director James Comey announced that he would not recommend Hillary Clinton for indictment. His rationale: she didn’t have the requisite “intent”. Therefore, no recommendation for prosecution. After providing us all with years of Hillary’s documentation and evidence of her prior behavior in real-time Comey, nonetheless, concluded that this could not rise to the level of ‘intent’. So what, in reality, is ‘intent’? If I purchase a server and install it in my bathroom and use this server for my email communication is this my ‘intent’ or ‘not’? What if I purchase multiple mobile devices for my cyber communications with people and send messages on these devices daily. Is this my ‘intent’ or ‘not’? Just what does this concept called ‘intent’ mean?

I realize that many actions could be viewed as ‘unintentional’. If I speed and do not recognize the limit posted via the road sign, we could view this action as ‘unintentional’. If I add you to my email contacts without requesting your approval, we might label this as ‘unintentional’. But actions which I plan and purpose over many days, weeks, and years must certainly be viewed as ‘intentional’…wouldn’t you think? Most of my daily actions are planned and conscious and this should be viewed as ‘intentional’. The idea that Hillary Clinton did not know what she was doing and saying in public via her email communications seems to be absurd. She must have thought about her actions and communications PRIOR to acting! She must have been ‘conscious’…don’t you think?

Anyway, Mr. Comey, had his reasons for his decisions. I may not agree with his logic, his subjective assumptions, or his conclusion but his position of authority does prevail. In reality, all is mostly subjective and WORDS can be used to mean multiple things. Logic is not really needed for political leaders. What is needed is acceptance of their actions and their behavior from the public. Most Hillary supporters will likely accept Comey’s legal logic and jargon (as is). The result (no prosecution for Hillary) is what most supporters follow. All the above logic and definitions are mostly meaningless within our greater political system. WORDS are what we follow (via our politicians) and meaning is internalized by each individual ‘subjectively’! Enjoy my analysis of Comey’s and Hillary’s soap opera! Have a good day! I am: https://kingdomecon.wordpress.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

