Skip to content

A Problem: False Economic Education!

September 4, 2015

Today, I talked to a friend and investor at the Club House here in Arizona. One area of discussion was the ‘nature’ of numbers. What are most people taught on this issue of ‘numbers’. What theory did they internalize in their youth and during their education experiences. Are ‘numbers’ real or imaginary. Are ‘numbers’ objective ‘things’ or mere illusions? This educated and knowledgeable investor friend felt that ‘numbers’ are real and his education seemed to support this view. Our cyber money today is a ‘number’. So are these cyber ‘numbers’ real?

Is the ‘number’ 8 a real thing or is it part of my inner imagination? What is a ‘number’?

I, however, was educated with the philosophy that ‘numbers’ are imaginary (a product of my mind/consciousness). I learned this view in my youth. The chalk on the blackboard is real (it exists) but the ‘number’ should be viewed as ‘imaginary’. So who is correct? Are ‘numbers’ real or imaginary? The concept of real, to me, is some object or thing which is ‘outside’ my mind/consciousness! A silver coin is real. An apple is real. Tables and chairs are real. But are the ‘names’ which we apply to these objects real? I would suggest, NO! Names and Numbers are products of my mind/consciousness.

Do ‘numbers’ exist independently of the human MIND? Do they emerge from my BRAIN?

This means that ‘names’ and ‘numbers’ reside in my inner non-physical realm. What Plato would call the realm of ‘forms’. To me, this is obvious and a reality…but it appears that many educated people/investors/pundits view ‘numbers’ and ‘names’ as real objects or things. When I ask these educated people to locate a ‘number’ or a ‘name’ they can not reveal this realness to me. They resort to gibberish! Does a ‘number’ derive from my brain? Does a ‘name’ derive from my brain? Could it be that my brain produces these ‘names’ and ‘numbers’ which we call our currencies? Personally, I don’t think so!

Numbers and names are like ‘forms’ derived from an inner realm. The object (tree) is the ‘thing’ and its ‘name’ is a FORM! A ‘name’ without an object is ‘imaginary’ (an illusion)!

Let’s think about the origin of the ‘name’ Dollar and the ‘number’ and ‘symbol’ associated with this ‘name’. We display this currency unit as $1.00. Does this unit derive from my brain and become a ‘real’ thing within our space/time universe? Again, I would suggest NO. I would ask you to reveal this unit in real-time. Can you? I don’t think you can! Where is this unit which we call ‘dollar’? Does it have a location within our space/time universe? If so, where? The other question that I would ask is: Why did our founding father of the ‘dollar’, Mr. Thomas Jefferson (mostly), view this unit as needing a ‘definition’. Why define this unit if it already is a real ‘thing’?

What Jefferson did was define our ‘dollar’ in terms of an existing real coin from the marketplace. This existing coin was called the Spanish silver dollar or the piece of eight dollar. Jefferson must have viewed the ‘name’ Dollar as insufficient (in and of itself) to be a real currency unit (unless defined in terms of something real). Was Thomas Jefferson an educated person and knowledgeable about money and reality? Personally, I think so! What did this educated person do? He used the ‘name’ Dollar as his choice of a currency unit but he DEFINED it specifically. What was his definition?

Our ‘dollar’ was defined and then minted into a coin. The ‘name’ Dollar originally referred to a real thing as it was minted into a coin!

We know from our history that his definition was 371.25 grains of pure silver (similar to the Spanish silver currency then in circulation). Jefferson had this coin assayed and he discovered that it contained precisely 371.25 grains of pure silver. He then decided to DEFINE our ‘dollar’ in this precise manner. The Coinage Act of 1792 emerged later with this precise definition for our Dollar. What does this reveal? To me this reveals that a ‘name’ like Dollar has no reality (substance) as a mere ‘name’. A ‘name’ and a ‘number’ comes from the MIND or one’s Consciousness. It is ‘imaginary’ until DEFINED! This to me was the mindset of Thomas Jefferson and I would support this view of reality!

Today’s ‘dollar’ gets created from the MIND of bankers and then gets typed into cyberspace! So what is this Cyber Dollar (in reality)? Where is it? Is it real or imaginary?

Today, we have educated pundits and investors thinking that the ‘numbers’ in our computer screens (what we call our cyber dollar) are REAL things (units). My friend thinks these units derive from his brain or the brains of man. This, to me, is ludicrous. My education says that both ‘names’ and ‘numbers’ are units of my inner ‘imagination’. Names and Numbers are not REAL (they are imaginary)! What we witness today in all our markets are units of our imagination. These units are traded and circulated within this space called Cyber Space. What we trade and exchange today are units of NOTHING!

Trading cyber ‘numbers’ derived from the realm of Plato’s forms appears to be an ILLUSION!

Our ‘dollar’ is a NO thing unit. The ‘euro’ is a NO thing unit. The ‘yen’ is a NO thing unit. Etc. Etc. All we are trading and exchanging today are UNITS of our imagination (this is an ILLUSION when understood)! All our markets are mostly an ILLUSION today and part of our INNER ‘imagination’. Look all around! Where are these ‘names’ and ‘numbers’ which we call our MONEY? Where is this unit called Dollar? Where is this unit called EURO? Where is this unit called YEN? Etc., Etc. Can anyone located these units within our real-time universe? Where? What kind of system are we promoting and supporting? An ILLUSION of our ‘mind’?

What would Thomas Jefferson think about today’s Cyber Money? Would he view it as REAL or IMAGINARY?

I think we need a NEW model for economics and for our thinking! My MIND is different from my Brain! My imagination is different from real Apples and Oranges. Our ‘dollar’ is now a mere ‘name’ and a ‘number’ and has no reality (other than as an imaginary illusion of my/your MIND). Why support a system of fantasy and illusion? Does this make any common sense? Do we need to educate the marketplace on what is real as compared to what is imaginary? I would suggest, YES! I now witness a collapsing stock market of mere NUMBERS (revealed within a SCREEN). What meaning does this have? Are real physical GOODS being produced? What is WEALTH? What is the purpose of ECONOMICS? Enjoy! I am: https://kingdomecon.wordpress.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

